Founded 1903

Co. Meath

Match Report: Curraha v Duleek/Bellewstown. J.M. Food Services - Football League Division 2

Download our mobile app to hear more about Curraha.

See More

Curraha travelled to Duleek for this rescheduled opening game of the 2024 Football League, played in very cold conditions. Both sides took some time to work their way into the game, and scoring opportunities were few and far between. Mark Jackson broke the deadlock in the 5th minute with a great strike with the outside of the right after being set free by James McEntee. The hosts were on target with the next 2 scores, with Curraha failing to take advantage of a stiff breeze as they registered some early wides. McEntee levelled the game up after 15 minutes with a long range free, which was closely followed by an outstanding score from Oisin Fay following a good move down the right hand side. Another McEntee free extended the Curraha lead to 2 after 2o minutes. The hosts kept themselves in the game well, and were taking their chances when they did get forward. Another McEntee free was cancelled out by an injury time point for Duleek/Bellewstown, and Curraha went into the break with a one point lead.

Curraha extended their lead again, with McEntee scoring his 4th point of the game in the 7th minute of the 2nd half. The hosts however were able to take advantage of the strong wind behind them an they began to take control of the game. They scored the next 2 points to level the game with 12 minutes played, before finding the back of the net 3 times in 6 minutes to all of a sudden hold a commanding lead. With the conditions ad the scoreline firmly in their favour, they were able to sit back and frustrate Curraha for the remainder of the game and secure the victory.

Next up for Curraha is a home match against St. Michaels on Saturday April 30th.

Final Score: Curraha 0-6 Duleek/Bellewstown 3-6

Curraha: Liam Hogan, Ian Battersby, Matthew Webb, Eoghan Burke, Oisin Fay (0-1), Conor Moriarty, Sean Ronan, Niall Murphy, Ronan Flynn, Seamus Hogan, James McEntee (0-4), Mark Jackson (0-1), Gavin Coyle, Eric O'Donoghue, Ruairí O'Sullivan

Subs: Jamie Fewer for Eric O'Donoghue, Cian Heagney for Mark Jackson,


Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play