Founded 1903

Co. Meath

Match Report: Curraha v Syddan. J.M. Food Services - Football League Division 2

Download our mobile app to hear more about Curraha.

See More
Curraha welcome Syddan to Joe McDermott Park for Round 7 of the J.M Food Services Football League Division 2. They entered this game in fine form, with wins in their previous 3 games against Meath Hill, Dunshaughlin & Oldcastle, and were hoping to make it 4 in a row and stay in contention at the top of the table.
The hosts were straight out of the blocks, and having secured possession from the throw-in, worked the ball to James McEntee who opened the scoring with a long range effort. Diarmuid Moriarty added a close range free in the 3rd minute, and he registered the game's first goal soon after, finishing emphatically after great work from Oisin Fay and Ruairí O'Sullivan. Moriarty and Brian Joyce were dominating at centre field, leaving Syddan penned in their own half in the opening exchanges. McEntee registered a score from play after Joyce won a kickout, closely followed by a great long range effort from Moriarty after he claimed possession from the resulting goal kick.
A great team move resulted in James McEntee breaking through on goal, with his powerful effort coming back off the post, gathered by David Coyle and popped over the bar. McEntee was on target again after 15 minutes after a driving run from left to right saw him fire over from a tight angle, and he registered again soon after following a slick move involving Oisin Fay and Sean Ronan. Gavin Coyle extended the lead further in the 20th minute after a strong run and pass from Niall Murphy. McEntee was on target from a 45 after Daigh Fitzpatrick had seen his goal bound effort deflected behind. Moriarty completed the first half scoring for the hosts after he was dragged down as he threatened to break through. Syddan got a score on the stroke of half-time, their second of the game, leaving Curraha in front at the break by 11 points. The first half also saw the introduction of Michael John Lavin who has transferred into the club this year, becoming the 8th player to make a first team debut this season. 

Half-time: Curraha 1-10 Syddan 0-2

Curraha were off to a fast start again as the game resumed, with Moriarty winning possession and firing over after just 20 seconds. He added another with a superb long range point from play soon after, following another excellent break up the field by Ruairí O'Sullivan. Ronan Flynn was next on target following excellent work by David Coyle to turnover possession on the 40. Coyle was again the provider soon after, with a great team move ending with him passing across goal to Daigh Fitzpatrick to finish to the net for his first score for the senior team. a Luke McCarthy kick out launched the move for the next score as he found Ronan Flynn in space. McEntee and O'Sullivan combined to find Moriarty who brought his tally to 1-6, before he was replaced by Jamie Fewer. Fewer was straight into the action, combining with Lavin and Sean Ronan to work a chance for Daigh Fitzpatrick who finished brilliantly to the net for his second goal of the game.  Syddan were much improved in the 2nd half, and they registered the next 5 points of the game. They were also denied a goal as Luke McCarthy made an outstanding save from a late penalty. James McEntee registered the last 2 scores of the game and also drew an excellent save from the keeper, as well as hitting the post for the 3rd time in the game, leaving him with an impressive tally of 8 points.

A comfortable victory in the end for Curraha, who were very efficient from first whistle to last, and secured a 4th consecutive victory to stay very much in contention for a semi-final spot with 4 games still to play.
Next  up is a trip to Walterstown, with the game provisionally fixed for Friday 31st May at 8pm, in Walterstown.

The 2nd team are in action in Moynalty at 8pm, Monday 27th.

Full-time: Curraha 3-17 Syddan 0-9

Curraha: Luke McCarthy, Seamus Hogan, Matthew Webb, Oisín Fay, Conor Joyce, Niall Murphy, Seán Ronan, Brian Joyce, Diarmuid Moriarty (1-6, 2F), Ronan Flynn (0-1), James McEntee (0-8, 3F,1 45), Ruairí O'Sullivan, Gavin Coyle (0-1), David Coyle (0-1), Daigh Fitzpatrick (2-00)
Subs used: Michael John Lavin for Conor Joyce, Jamie Cleary for David Coyle, Jamie Fewer for Diarmuid Moriarty


Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play