Founded 1903

Co. Meath

Match Report: Curraha v Ballinabrackey 'A' League Division 1B 02/06/2023

Download our mobile app to hear more about Curraha.

See More

Nail biting finish in Joe McDermott Park

Curraha welcomed Ballinabrackey to Joe McDermot Park Curraha on Friday evening the 2nd of June in Round 10 of the Séamus Connolly Catering A League Division 1B match. This game was moved to Friday night having initially being fixed for Tuesday night coming. This was a massive game for both teams, Ballinabrackey were top of the table and pushing for a place in this year's final, as for Curraha they are at the other end of the table needing as many wins as they could to give themselves a chance of surviving in Division 1B. Played on a beautiful sunny evening with no wind as well, the game was set to be a cracker. As Curraha were down a lot of numbers due to injury's and current players on J1s as well as County involvement and this would take a huge performance to overcome this plucky Ballinabrackey side who were in great form.

Stephen Cregan got the game underway at 8 o'clock and the first score of the game went the way of Curraha coming from Niall Murphy 3 minutes in, after he made a fine run up the sideline he cut in and kicked a lovely score off his right foot. Ballinabrackey responded quickly with a point by Stephen Curry from play 4 minutes in. Curraha's Niall Murphy again tore up the sideline and got by his man and took a shot and the ball hit the post and went wide, an early indication that Curraha meant business. Ballinabrackey started to dominate and scored 4 unanswered points 2 from frees and 2 from play, with the two from play coming from David Carroll and Danny Quinn as they led by 4, 22 minutes into the first half. Curraha were still creating chances but hit some wides which they needed to convert to keep in tabs with the Bracks. Ballinabrackey kept piling on the pressure and Stephen Curry caught a fine mark and converted with 23 minutes gone. Barry Thompson's point gave Ballinabrackey a 6 point lead when he fired over a point from play. Richie Coffey then made a long run up the pitch and he slotted the ball over the bar 29 minutes in. Curraha badly needed a score and thanks to Luke McCarthy the Curraha Goalie he fired over a great 45 as the clock ticked over time. Ronan Flynn brought Ballinabrackey's lead back to 5 as he scored a peach of a score from a free 34 minutes into the half.

Halftime score: Curraha 0.03 Ballinabrackey 0.09

Curraha made a halftime sub with David Coyle coming in for Evan McGovern. The first score of the second half came in the 8th minute when Barry Thompson got a fine point from a free for Ballinabrackey. Gavin Coyle got his first score of the game for Curraha with a fine point from a free 15 minutes in. David Carroll hit back straight away for Ballinabrackey with a point from play with 13 minutes remaining. Ballinabrackey were reduced to 14 men when they had a man shown a black card. Curraha still had as always the never say die spirit and started to rally and was started by Ronan Flynn when he popped over a fine free. Ruairí O'Sullivan for Curraha made a brilliant interseption and gave a fine pass to Niall Murphy who bared down on goal and took a shot, Dean Pluck wasn't able to stop Murphy's fine shot and the ball ended up in the back of the net to leave only 2 points in it. Barry Thompson steadied the Ballinabrackey ship when slotted over a good score with calls that it should have been a free out for Curraha as there looked to be a clear pull on Seamus Hogan's Jersey. A rush of blood from Ronan Flynn led him to being shown a black card for a clear pull down with 4 minutes remaining. Niall Murphy again led by example for Curraha and scored his second point of the match to again leave 2 between the sides with 2 minutes of normal time remaining. We were set for a nail biting finish to the game as it could go anyone's way. Ballinabrackey got the point that Curraha needed when Niall Smullen came off the bench for Ballinabrackey to leave the full time score in Joe McDermott Park.

Curraha 1.06 Ballinabrackey 0.12

Overall a very good performance by Curraha whose last league is against Walterstown on Tuesday the 20th of June at 8 pm.

Curraha team

Luke McCarthy(0.01, 45) Andrew Moriarty, Matthew Webb, Séamus Hogan, Niall Murphy(1.02) Brian Joyce, Sean Ronan, Conor Joyce, Ronan Flynn(0.02F) Ruairí O'Sullivan, Ciarán O'Hanrahan, Andrew Coyle, Matthew Brennan, Evan McGovern, Gavin Coyle(0.01)0.01F Subs used: David Coyle for Evan McGovern and Daniel Doran for Matthew Brennan

Referee: Stephen Creg


Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play